Skip to main content
The University of Oklahoma (OU) has a goal; to better the Sooner. Founded in 1890, the University has 20 colleges offering some 160 bachelor's degrees, 170 master's degrees, and about 80 doctoral degrees at three campuses in Norman, Oklahoma City, and Tulsa. The Norman campus hosts the main academic programs, while OU's seven health-related professional colleges are based at the Health Sciences Center in Oklahoma City. Enrollment at OU is more than 30,000 students, and it has 2,400 full-time faculty members. The university adopted the Sooner nickname in 1908, deriving the moniker from homesteaders who arrived too soon in Oklahoma's 1889 Land Run.